Charlotte DUI Attorney
Don’t Let a Mistake Ruin Your Future
Have you been recently charged with a traffic violation in North Carolina? Were you arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI)? If so, you need help from a Charlotte DWI/DUI attorney who has experience with these kinds of issues. At Pinnacle Law, our former Assistant District Attorney understands the strategies used by the legal system to prosecute people just like you. We stand ready to help you get the answers you need and build a strong case that helps you avoid a criminal conviction. Call us today to schedule your free consultation and get started.
Facing DUI charges in North Carolina? Dial (704) 734-9797 now or contact us online today. The consultation is free.
North Carolina’s Drunk Driving Laws
According to North Carolina’s Safe Roads Act of 1983, your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is the most common way the state of North Carolina would determine whether you are legally impaired to drive a motor vehicle. So long as your BAC is within the legal limit, you have not violated any criminal statutes.
The law states:
- If you are 21 or older, legal BAC is less than 0.08%
- For commercial drivers, legal BAC is less than 0.04%
- If you are below 21, any blood or breath alcohol concentration is illegal
There are a variety of other laws associated with the NC DWI laws.
Six Levels of DWI Sentencing in North Carolina
North Carolina’s DWI laws are harsh and complex. DWI sentencing is based on your “level,” and judges use mitigating and aggravating factors to establish your level. There are six levels, each calling for different levels of penalties.
- Fine: Up to $200
- Jail: Between 24 hours and 60 days
- Fine: Up to $500
- Jail: Between 48 hours and 120 days
- Fine: Up to $1,000
- Jail: Between 72 hours and 6 months
- Fine: Up to $2,000
- Jail: Between 7 days and 1 year
- Fine: Up to $4,000
- Jail: Between 30 days and 2 years
When is DWI Considered a Felony?
There are a few factors that cause a DWI to be considered a felony charge, including:
- 3 convictions within 7 years
- DWI causing injury
- DWI causing death
As a result of a conviction, you are more likely to incur a higher cost in the form of higher insurance rates and points on your driver’s license. Under North Carolina’s Safe Roads Act of 1983, the state can not only take your car, but they can also sell it.
How Our Charlotte DWI Lawyer Helps Our Clients
If you have been charged with a DWI or a criminal traffic violation, it is in your best interest to hire of an Indian Trail criminal lawyer who not only knows the North Carolina DWI laws but has vast experience defending clients charged with DWI. You should not just walk into a court and accept a plea. Get help from our team and plan your defense.
Call (704) 734-9797 now to schedule a free consultation with our Charlotte DUI attorney.
Communication and professionalism was superb.- Satisfied Client
I’ve had the opportunity to recommend you twice since we first connected in May/June, and will continue to share your name should someone be in need of excellent representation-counsel.- Satisfied Client
Exemplary Representation of Our Community- Satisfied Client