North Carolina laws set very specific penalties for robbery crimes. In this state, you might be charged with robbery with a firearm or other dangerous weapon. This is a class D felony, which means that you’re going to face time in prison.
Other forms of robbery, with the exception of a train robbery, are class G felonies. You may not face time in prison for a conviction on another form of robbery, but you could face supervised probation.
What are the sentences that are possible for these crimes?
If you’re convicted of a class D felony, you face an active punishment. This means that you’re looking at 51 to 64 months in prison. If you’re convicted of a class G felony, you may face an active or intermediate punishment. This means that you’re either going to be placed on supervised probation or incarcerated for 10 to 13 months.
What kind of punishments are present in North Carolina?
North Carolina divides punishments into three categories. These include;
- Community punishment: Sentences that don’t include special probation or imprisonment
- Intermediate punishment: Sentences that include supervised probation
- Active punishment: Sentences that require imprisonment
Anyone who’s facing robbery charges in this state should remember that they might face other consequences if they’re convicted. Robbery is considered a violent crime, so you may have to deal with things like negative impacts to your career or even an inability to volunteer for certain organizations. Your attorney can discuss this with you as you work to determine what type of defense strategy you’re going to utilize to answer these charges.