Alcohol limits are not the same for all drivers in North Carolina

Did you know that there are different laws for different people when it comes to drunk driving in North Carolina?

  • For most people, the alcohol limit is .08%.
  • For commercial drivers, it is .04%.
  • For under 21-year-olds, it is .04%.

If you are stopped and fail a Breathalyzer test or blood test, you will face a charge of driving while intoxicated (DWI). If you refuse the test, you will have your license revoked for 30 days. You will have it revoked for another year after your court hearing, even if you were found not guilty.

There are five levels of DWI charges, with level one being the most severe offense with the harshest penalties and level five the least serious.

  • Level one results in between one month and two years in jail, plus up to $4000 in fines. A judge can give a level one to someone who injured someone, was driving with children in their vehicle or driving while their license was revoked.
  • Level five means you will spend between one day and two months in jail and be fined up to $200.This would usually only be given for a first-time offense and provided you had no children in the car, and no one was hurt.

Repeat offenders could be charged with a felony. Commercial drivers may lose their job as a result of charges. If you have been stopped and charged with DWI near Indian Trail, seek the help of an experienced attorney to help you fight or reduce the charges.