When you drive faster than the posted speed limit in North Carolina, you risk getting a speeding ticket that requires you to pay a fine. However, if you drive significantly faster than the speed limit, you can be charged with “reckless driving.”
Reckless driving is defined as driving in a careless manner with willful and wanton disregard for the safety of others and without caution. In addition, driving at a speed that endangers any person or property is considered reckless driving.
While driving at least 15 miles over the posted speed limit is considered reckless driving, traveling more than 80 miles per hour will automatically result in a reckless driving charge.
Other examples of reckless driving in North Carolina include:
- Running through a stop sign
- Running a red light
- Failing to yield in areas that require yielding
- Illegal passing
- Aggressive swerving
- Street racing
Reckless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum 60-day jail sentence and a fine not exceeding $1,000. In addition, a conviction can lead to four points on your driver’s license (12 points within three years can lead to driver’s license suspension) and an increase in your insurance rates.
Since a reckless driving conviction can lead to serious criminal penalties, it is important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you get the best possible outcome in your case. At Pinnacle Law, we can help you determine all your legal options to help you avoid serious penalties.
For more information about reckless driving charges in Charlotte, contact us today at (704) 734-9797.